Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab: Snow Glass Apples

FullSizeRender (8)

BPAL Snow Glass Apples

“It smells like green apples and like sex and vampires, all at the same time.” – Neil Gaiman about this scent

Today I have a very special review. As I’ve mentioned before, I love Neil Gaiman. He’s one of my favorite authors and I’m honestly obsessed with his writing. Besides his novel, Neil has also written dozens of short stories and one of my personal favorites is the story “Snow Glass Apples”. It was originally published in 1994 and can now be found in his short story collection “Smoke and Mirrors”. “Snow Glass Apples” is an extremely dark and disturbing but incredibly interesting take on the classic Snow White story. Without giving away too much of the story, I will say that it is told from the point of view from the queen and she is the hero/protagonist of the story. Snow White herself is the villain.

BPAL released this exclusive scent in 2008 with all of the proceeds going to the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund. Because it was a special, limited edition scent, it is no longer available and only a certain number were made. It can be very hard to find, but I was extremely lucky to find a bottle on the BPAL Facebook group.

In the bottle: I’m getting green apples and something very cold and crisp. Weirdly, something about it reminds me of Bath and Body Works’ Cucumber Melon fragrance; that’s not necessarily a bad thing, I just wasn’t expecting it.

On the skin: Extremely accurate tart green apples. But these apples are frozen; there is not an ounce of warmth in this fragrance. It’s sharp and crisp and cold. I’m definitely detecting some ozone and musk in there too and they get stronger the longer I wear it. The throw is quite strong as well. It’s very evocative of the title and the story.

This is easily one of the most unique scents I have ever smelled. Snow Glass Apples is one of those fragrances that you have to be in the right mood to wear. And that mood is probably “murderous vampire in the snow”. I can’t decide whether or not I actually like this.

TL;DR: Frozen green apples, slivery musk, and frigid wind. Very evocative of the story. ??/5.

Leave a Reply

