Crow and Pebble Cosmetics

New to the indie makeup scene is Crow and Pebble Cosmetics, a company based in Scotland. The shadows caught my eye when I saw that the debut collection was based around the Four Horsepersons of the Apocalypse from Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett’s Good Omens, which is one of my favorite books. That, combined with some lovely interactions with the owner of Crow and Pebble, convinced me to check out some shadows. I purchased the shades Chernobyl Power Station, Petrochemical Sheen, Devotion to Duty and Forest Fire and I received freebies of Lights That May Have Been Stars and the Adam highlighter.  The prices are $7.13 US for a full jar, $3,89 US for a half jar and $1.30 for a sample. Shipping was quite quick considering that the company is based in the UK; it arrived 9 days after I got the shipping notification.

FullSizeRender (11)

Swatches on the left are over Urban Decay Primer Potion and the right is over bare skin. From the top: Devotion to Duty, Forest Fire, Chernobyl Power Station, Petrochemical Sheen, Lights That May Have Been Stars, Adam

Devotion to Duty

A deep cranberry with a red shimmer.

I’m a girl who loves reddish, warm-toned shadows, so this one was a no-brainer. Shimmery reds are somewhat tricky to find as well.

This is a stunning eyeshadow. It’s a rich, shimmery, deeper red, very true to the description. It’s super pigmented and you don’t really need a primer for it.

Forest Fire

A vibrant, bright orange with gold and violet shimmer. 

This is another warm toned shadow and another duochrome. I was especially curious about the orange-purple shift, since those colors are the opposite of each other on the color spectrum.

It’s impossible to capture on camera, but there is a subtle pinkish-purple duochrome shift that’s gorgeous. The color is a striking bright coppery-orange, but you will need primer and layering to get full pigmentation because it is a bit sheer.

Chernobyl Power Station

A biting, shimmery acid green, practically radioactive.

I had to get this one because the color is just so unique. I don’t have anything like this.

The description pretty much says it all. The color is extremely vibrant and pigmented. You could get away with not using primer for this one. Despite its brightness, I find it actually really wearable. This one is probably tied for my favorite alongside Devotion to Duty.

Petrochemical Sheen

A deep, warm brown with a bright green duochrome sheen. 

Duochrome shadows are the main reason I buy indie eyeshadows. I absolutely love them and this one looked super pretty.

If you’re familiar with MAC’s blue/green duochrome, Urban Decay’s Lounge, or NYX Voodoo, this is very similar. The shift (which I can’t seem to photograph) is definitely green rather than blue and the pigmentation is good. That being said, you’ll need a primer to really get that beautiful shift.

Lights That May Have Been Stars

A vibrant sparkly stark white of glittering stars with a red shimmer of something else.

This was a freebie, and at first I thought “oh, its just a plain white eyeshadow.” WELL I WAS WRONG. It’s a really shimmery white with reddish-purple sparkles that add a really cool dimension to the shadow. This would make a killer highlight.

Adam

Adam is not a Horseperson of the Apocalypse; fans of the novel will know that Adam is in fact a sweet kid growing up in the English countryside who also happens to be the Antichrist. This is a highlighter, and is only available when you purchase a certain amount of product. The other shades of the highlighters are Pepper, Brian and Wensleydale.

There is no official description of the shade, but I find it to be a soft lavender with gold shimmer. It’s really pretty and sheer, which I like. I’m not a huge fan of the strong highlight, and if you are, Adam is probably not gonna work for you.

Overall, I’m very impressed with my order. Chernobyl Power Station and Devotion to Duty are my favorites of the bunch and I’m pleased with the freebies I received as well. I look forward to the next collection!

 

Leave a Reply

