Solstice Scents: Manor

IMG_6467.JPG

Solstice Scents Manor

Woody-Vanilla Musk, Vanilla & Glorious Aloeswood

Ah, Manor. I think I’ve heard more about Manor than I have about any other Solstice Scents fragrance. I was curious about it because I love vanilla, but everyone says that this one is a distinctly un-gourmand vanilla, which I haven’t encountered. You can purchase this on Solstice Scents’ website, as well as from the Rhinestone Housewife and Pretty Indulgent; its $16 US for 5mL or $70 US for the 60mL EDP version. It’s also available as part of their sample packs.

In the bottle: This is super interesting. I’m definitely getting vanilla, but its not a foody vanilla at all. There’s some wood in the background.

On the skin: Manor is the perfect name for this; it’s so evocative of a dusty old Victorian manor that was once grand but has now fallen into disarray and only the ghosts are left. Imagine the house from “Crimson Peak”, but less evil. It’s all vanilla and aloeswood and the combo is elegant but almost dusty. I find most vanillas to be warm, but this one is distinctly cold. There’s a little touch of “grandma’s vanity” in there, but not too much. I like this, but it’s not my favorite.

TL;DR: Cool, dusty vanilla and wood. Very evocative of the name. 3.5/5

2 thoughts on “Solstice Scents: Manor

Leave a Reply

