Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab: Jack

149464625828218 (9)

Jack

The scent of warm, glowing jack o’lanterns on a warm autumn night: true Halloween pumpkin, spiced with nutmeg, glowing peach and murky clove.

I love Halloween; I’m one of those people who plans their Halloween costume six months in advance. However, I live in the southern US, so autumn is not a concept here. I bought this scent because I wanted something that would bring about the image of Halloween in the movies, with multicolored trees, falling leaves and a crisp chill in the air. You can buy it on BPAL’s website. It’s $17.50 US for a 5mL full size or $4 US for a sample Imp.

In the bottle: Pumpkin and something else? I feel like that’s the clove but it’s not as spicy as I was expecting.

On the skin: Pumpkin and nutmeg are the first notes to appear and I swear I can smell brown sugar or something else candy-like. It’s not overly sweet though thanks to the clove which blossoms into a nice layer of spice. I’m not getting much of the peach note. I feel like this smells like autumn in a bottle.

TL;DR: Lightly sugared pumpkin and nutmeg. Very autumnal. 4/5.

Leave a Reply

