Arcana: The Kraken

149464625828218 (5)

Arcana The Kraken

Gorgeous smoked vanilla, black vanilla, saltwater, China musk, and black musk.

I’m low-key scared of trying aquatic perfumes, because the ones I have smelled before always came our smelling like astringent sunscreen. However, since I’ve fallen down the indie rabbit hole, I figured I should give them another shot. The Kraken seemed like a good bet since it has the vanilla in it and I adore vanilla. You can find this scent in Arcana’s ebay store. It retails for $20 US.

In the bottle: I’m confused. It’s very perfume-y and I don’t sense any vanilla. It’s just black musk and something weirdly floral.

On the skin: Once I applied it, it turned rather powdery and musky. Eventually, the saltwater came out with the hint of vanilla which gives it an almost spicy smell. There’s also something very skin-like about it, which makes it quite sensual. I find this to be a very masculine scent; Killian from “Once Upon a Time” would smell like this. Seriously, if I smelled this on a guy, I would melt into a puddle. The longer I wear it, the more I like it.

TL;DR: Powdery, musky skin smell with a hint of saltwater. Smells like a hot pirate who actually bathes. 4/5

Leave a Reply

