Arcana: Bonfires at Dusk

Bonfires at Dusk

Woodsmoke, sweet beeswax, Oregon lavender, sandalwood, charred juniper, and the scent of swiftly appearing stars.

I was really excited to try this scent because I love smoky perfumes, but this one sounded very different from some other smoky scents I was looking at; the description seemed less dark and witchy and more soothing.  You can find this scent in Arcana’s ebay store, as well as in their Canadian retailer Pretty Indulgent and Australian retailer Femme Fatale. It retails for $19 US.

In the bottle: Sandalwood and juniper. It really reminds me of Holy Terror, thanks to the sandalwood, but it’s a little less intense.

On the skin: Comforting is a really good way of describing this. Once applied, I immediately got the sandalwood, lavender, and charred juniper. The beeswax and smoke kind of linger in the background, but they’re still perceptible. The note of “swiftly appearing stars” seems so abstract, but this somehow captures that image perfectly. It really reminds me of my summers spent in the mountains of North Carolina, where I’d be sitting outside with my family around a crackling fire, watching the sparks disappear into the night sky. I find it to be very calming but also alluring in the most subtle way. The scent lasted about 6 hours on me, with moderate throw.

TL;DR: Holy Terror’s greener sister. Sandalwood, lavender and juniper. 5/5.

Leave a Reply

